My Backyard Garden

2013-04-19 18.24.13 I officially have a garden again! Last week I planted some seeds and seedlings and am anxiously wating for everything to grow. I also assembled a new tomato trellis that will hopefully hold up better than the dinky, fold-out wire thing I tried last year. It kept falling over every time we had a storm. 😦

This year’s crop:

  • Big tomatoes
  • Cherry tomatoes
  • Broccoli
  • Arugula
  • Swiss Chard (planted last Fall)
  • Strawberries (planted last Spring)
  • Basil
  • Italian parsley
  • Rosemary (planted last Spring)
  • Mint
  • Yellow peppers or jalepenos (sticker on seedling said jalepeno, info stakes says yellow bell pepper – will find out soon!)
  • Butter lettuce
  • Peas
  • Sage

2013-04-19 18.25.40 My little helper supervised from inside the whole time. This girl loves veggies almost as much as her mamma!

Next up: figuring out my fencing for this year. I have garden stakes installed but need to figure out the right kind of netting and/or walls. Critters ate ALL of my strawberries last year, so I need something intense!

Leave a Reply

