Watermelon Salad

2013-06-25 20.25.26

Apparently someone thinks my husband is a 60 year old woman because Prevention magazine has mysteriously been showing up in the mail addressed to him the past few months. Normally the issues go straight into the recycling bin, but when I saw the gorgeous picture of a watermelon-arugula salad on the cover of the latest issue, I just had to give it a try! Few things are more refreshing that a cold slice of watermelon on a hot day, but I would have never thought to incorporate it into a savory recipe. It’s an unexpected and delicious combination!

2013-06-25 20.05.06

Not only is this recipe refreshing, it is so simple to make! With just 7 ingredients and 3 steps, you can have a nutrient-packed side dish or light lunch in mere minutes. Plus you get some satisfying healthy fats from the pistachios.

2013-06-25 20.03.39

The vinaigrette dressing gives a subtle sweet/sour flavor that pairs nicely with the watermelon and arugula. And, of course, basil is perfect in almost every summer recipe.

2013-06-25 20.05.33

This recipe was my first experience with a melon baller. I found it fun and easy! And I just picked up a cheapo at Kroger for $3. Worth it – so much better than cutting slices and then chopping into cubes.

2013-06-25 20.22.44

These salt and pepper pistachios are so addicting. I specifically bought this flavor because I thought it would be kind of plain and boring. Wrong! I ate 1/3 of the bag while I was making this recipe.

2013-06-25 20.18.28

Arugula was one of my strongest crops last year. Disappointingly, I can’t grow it at all this summer. Maybe it’s all the rain? I will plant some seeds again in the fall, but until then I’m having to buy it at the grocery store or farmers’ market. Regardless, arugula and watermelon are so good together – the bitter and sweet really balance out each other.

2013-07-01 07.52.39

My tomatoes, on the other hand, are growing like crazy. I picked my first handful this week, and there are about 100 green ones still on the plants. Expect some good tomato recipes in the coming weeks! But first, the star of this week’s post:

2013-06-25 20.25.20

Watermelon Salad
Adapted from Mark Bittman
Serves 6

Ingredients:
1 small watermelon
2 cups baby arugula
1 T fresh basil, chopped
1 T agave nectar
1 T white wine vinegar
pinch of sea salt and black pepper
1/4 cup shelled pistachios

1. First, make the dressing by whisking the agave nectar, vinegar, salt, and pepper in a large serving bowl. Stir in the basil and let sit while you prepare the rest of the salad.

2. Next, cut the watermelon in half and scoop out using a melon baller. Remove any seeds as you move the melon balls to the serving dish.

3. Gently toss the watermelon and arugula in the dressing. Top each individual serving with a small handful of pistachios.

2 thoughts on “Watermelon Salad

  1. I usually just eat watermelon plain but I need to be more adventurous and try a salad like this. It looks scrumptious and I love the melon balls! Must get melon baller…;)

Leave a Reply

