Tomato & Dill Grits

While I grew up eating sweeter foods for breakfast, like cereal, cinamon raisin toast, and Toaster Strudels (sigh, if only they weren’t so bad for you), today I usually prefer something savory first thing in the morning. Lately, I’ve been a big fan of avocado slices on toast, tofu and veggie scrambles, olive oil and chia toast, or green smoothies. I really like to start my day with at least a serving of veggies and some energy-boosting protein.

2013-10-08 08.29.22

I discovered a new meal to add to my breakfast repertoire a few weeks ago when my husband and I spent a weekend at a B&B in the Blue Ridge Mountains for our anniversary: creamy grits mixed with fresh tomato and dill and just a hint of spice. Perfect fuel for a day of wine tasting!

2013-09-28 12.17.39-1

2013-09-28 14.21.51-1

Grits are a Southern staple, and usually prepared with heavy ingredients like cheese, butter, or bacon. I loved the twist of adding bright, fresh flavors while still keeping the comforting texture and rich taste. Even though I requested a vegan breakfast at the B&B, I was a little leery that it actually was dairy-free. It just tasted so rich, creamy, and almost cheesey. However, I recreated the recipe myself at home with almond-coconut milk and a little nutritional yeast, and it tasted exactly the same!

2013-10-08 08.27.21 HDR

As fancy as they taste, these tomato and dill grits only take about 10 minutes to make – perfect for a busy weekday morning! Next time, I’m thinking about adding either white beans or scrambled tofu for some more protein. And, as my garden is still bursting with tomatoes in mid-October, I will be making this dish for awhile!

2013-10-08 08.26.04 HDR

Tomato & Dill Grits
Serves 2

Ingredients:
6 T grits
1 cup water
1 cup unsweetened almond coconut milk or unsweetened coconut milk
1 tomato, diced
2 sprigs fresh dill, chopped
1 tsp nutritional yeast
1 tsp ground black pepper
pinch of ground cayenne pepper
pinch of sea salt

1. Heat the grits, water, and coconut milk in a saucepan over medium-high heat until boiling. In the meantime, chop tomato and dill.

2. Reduce heat to simmer and stir in the tomato, dill, and remaining ingredients.

3. While stirring occasionally, cook until grits are thick and creamy, about 6-8 more minutes.

4. Garnish with a few pieces of dill and another pinch of cayenne (optional) and serve.

Leave a Reply

